Jingle Bells or Trick or Treat??

Wanting to get a jump on the holidays, I started out making a green crocheted Christmas tree with a fully decorated skirt done in festive colors for the holidays when my co-worker, Kyle said ‘Why now? Shouldn’t you be making a tree for Halloween?’ A tree?? for Halloween?? ummm….let me think. A bright white light appeared and off I skipped to Michael’s.

Going to Michael’s Craft Store for me is like being a candy store filled with chocolate.  I had to put my blinders on and headed straight for the yarn section.  Black, orange,  yellow and purple tucked under my arm, I proceeded to the main aisle where amongst the witches and goblins, I found an array of small trickets to make hanging ornaments.  WoW! I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I filled my basket with skeltons, pumpkins, bats, gourds and anything else I could find that were the perfect size.  One more aisle to go- beads & eyepins.  I eyed my basket taking a mental count of what I had, I stood in line waiting for my turn.  Coupon in hand, I finished my transaction and left.  Before heading home, I stopped in the $1 store to pick up another string of skeltons which I had purchases weeks before.  I had plans for them.  They should only know whats in store for them!!

Wondering what I should start first, the tree or the ornaments, I decided on the tree.  It took me about 2 days to finish crocheting.  As I started on the skirt, I decided to add candy corns all the way around.  I was extremely pleased with  the black tree.  Even more than the green tree I previously made.  Maybe because the color was unique and no one I knew of has ever said they made a black tree before.  Pleased with myself, I started on the ornaments…..

Now where did I put that string of skeltons??  I layed out all my goodies and the tools I needed.  I grabbed my paint & brushes and lost myself in the world of creativity.  I worked on the pieces that needed to be touched up with paint so they dried first.

I cut my eyepins and glued a bead on the completed ornaments.  I took the string of skeltons and carefully chopped their hand and feet (ew! gruesome! Thank God no blood or I would have passed out!) and added a bead & eyepin to each.  I beheaded the skull (Ouch! there is blood…. I prinked my finger!!) another bead and eyepin.  I even did a few loose bones. 

I glued a few beads together to make a few  spiders and decorated the tree with a few webs and my finished ornaments.  I topped the tree with a small sitting scarecrow.  Not only did Kyle like the tree, he now owns it!  It was fun to do something entirely different than the norm.  Guess I’ll get back to my green tree, off to Michael’s for more ornaments!  Christmas is coming…….

Happy Halloween!!

About Dainty Crochet

One of my greatest passions in life is to crochet and find new patterns. I have been crocheting since my Mom and Grandmother taught me at the age of 8. To this day it amazes me how one strand of thread can create something so unique.
This entry was posted in Crafts & things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Jingle Bells or Trick or Treat??

  1. Mette says:

    I would really love to have the pattern for the tree. Could someone please send it to me, since the link for the pattern doesn’t work.

  2. Hi everyone, I am posting the site for the Christmas tree I used to create the black tree. Please be aware that I will only keep it up till the end of October so print your copy now!

    D E L E T E D on Jan 18th……….

    ENJOY!! Thank you Kim!!!

  3. *****Hi everyone, I’m so sorry to tell you that the pattern link I used for the trees are no longer working on the web from Michael’s Craft. I imagine if you search for the tree, some will come up. I do know that there are crocheters who have posted the same pattern for sale in various sites. Good Luck in your search……….

  4. June says:

    is it possible to get the Christmas tree pattern? I make stuff for our troops and would like to make some trees…. I did try the url you provided but it stated page not found

  5. Sue says:

    I like the black tree. Almost looks like a witches hat

    • Thank you Sue. I did like the way that tree worked up in black. I plan on making another one for Halloween for myself. This time I’d like to decorate it with orange lights and skeletons. I already have the lights and ‘bones’ ~~ allI need is the tree! -Donna

  6. Paula says:

    Hi!
    Love your trees! The black one I would’ve never thought of making but it’s great for Halloween! I just started following your blog and I’m also a beginner crocheter. Love your blog and your creations.
    Hugs, Paula

  7. Wanda says:

    That is AWESOME!

  8. robin cunnagin says:

    Love it!!! Is there a pattern for the tree?

  9. D'Ann G says:

    I like it. And how creative to decorate it for Halloween.

  10. Lisa says:

    Amazingly beautiful@

Leave a Reply

